An open letter to my old friends

 

An open letter to the close friends with whom I have shared an unspoken goodbye with

This is for the people that at one time or another I considered my “best friend.” To some, I may overuse that title a little too casually. But, over my 20 years I have been fortunate enough to have so many people  completely fill that role for me. Since then, most of those people have moved to other states or have moved to other places in their lives in which there isn’t a place for me (and vice versa).

One letter could never do justice to how much these relationships mean to me, but this is a start.


Dear old friend,

To say it simply, thank you.

Whether you know it or not, you left an imprint on my life. I appreciate the laughs, the tears, the conversation, the hugs, the weird inside jokes, the time spent together, and the fact that we ever crossed paths at all.

You taught me the value of real, raw friendship and gave me memories to cherish for a lifetime.

Though we never speak anymore (but occasionally interact on social media because that’s the way the world works these days) you still have a place in my heart.

The way I see it my close friends have had a deep influence in shaping who I am today and in what I consider to be my most cherished values in relationships (loyalty, honesty, vulnerability). For this reason, our friendship will always be a part of me, always be present in some way.

As I pack up my belongings, I have been getting a kick out of browsing through old photos (that are horrifically over-edited or just plain awkward, s/o to junior high). Nostalgic? Yes. Regretful? No. I’ve found that it is healthy and refreshing to be reminded of where I used to be & who I used to be. Most importantly, reflecting back on the abundance of amazing friendships I have experienced reminds me of how blessed I am.

So, to all of you, thank you. Know that you changed my life for the better. Know that I appreciate you. Know that you have given me something to be thankful for. Know that our unspoken goodbye is okay.

Wishing you all the warmth in the world.

Love always,

K♥

 

Share your thoughts! :)

