Wake up and smell the roses

 

img_0483
Good morning loves!

It’s bright & sunny in Seattle today 🙂

As winter weans away spring (more sunshine & blossoming flowers) is just around the corner and I couldn’t be more excited to ditch the winter jackets, wool socks, and rain boots (okay, maybe I’m not completely ready to pack away my Hunters just yet) for dresses and sandals (too ambitious?).

For now, though, I thought I’d share my numero uno wellness tip: wake up and smell the roses.

In other words, take the time to appreciate the beauty that surrounds you. Slow down & look around. Listen to the birds, watch the clouds pass by, soak up some sunshine, be inspired by nature. Go outside at night to watch the stars. Wake up early enough to catch the sunrise every now and again. Take it all in. 

Nature’s beautiful creatures and plants never cease to thrive around us, regardless of whether we notice or not. They are a sort of constant throughout our lives. No matter where you are you can look up and see the sky or look around and see trees (@PNW).

But as the beasts, and they will teach you;
or the bushes of the earth, and they will teach you;
and the fish of the sea will declare to you.
Who among all these does not know that the hand of the Lord has done this?
In his hand is the life of every living thing and the breath of all mankind.

Job 12:7-10

Pausing to smell the roses will teach & inspire you.

For me, interacting with nature inspires me to write and to feel God’s presence. Appreciating his works, rather than being consumed by earthly distractions such as social media or even working/studying, helps me to see that God is good. He brings a sense of calmness over me when I spend time in nature. Like I am surrounded by purely his creations rather than in the city where I’m surrounded by man-made buildings.

So, pencil in some time in your schedule this week to slow down and absorb your surroundings and appreciate nature. You might learn a thing or two.


Mini life update:

So far February has been unexpectedly refreshing. Last week in Western Washington we had snow nonstop for a couple of days and accumulated the most snow (1 & 1/2 feet at my house) that we’ve had in years. Consequently, university was cancelled for the first time since I’ve been attending. The snowfall came as a surprise, as I do not often check my weather app on the weekends. Even more of a surprise was how much joy my family had going for a walk at 10 p.m. as the snow fell, playing with my yellow lab in snow up to her belly, and sledding without a care.

Those few days almost felt like winter break, although its been over a month since the holiday season and since winter quarter has been in session.


Love always,

K♄

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wake up and smell the roses

Share your thoughts! :)

