My First Quarter of College

« Following in the footsteps of my dad, I joined the dog pack at the University of Washington »

Surprisingly, there were not a considerable number of factors which influenced my decision- if you can  if even call it that. The U-Dub has felt like home since I stepped foot on campus as a child, with bright eyes who  went to football games with her dad & picked out new husky gear. For me, the decision of where to go to school was more natural than it was logical.

During senior year I applied to a couple of schools in Washington state for no real reason other than to apply to them. Never could I envision myself attending any other school than UW. Early in 2015 I applied to a private school, Pacific Lutheran University,  which was close to home, offered me a hefty scholarship & a spot in their honors program. This made choosing UW tougher. For the first time in my life I had another college on my mind.

Due to my indecisiveness, I made my final decision to attend UW a week before the deadline to respond to admission..

All throughout the process, though, my heart was telling me to chose UW. When I visited PLU it simply did not feel like home to me- and that is basically what ruled that option out. Anything that does not feel right to my heart is not right for me. 

So, in late September I moved to Seattle!

Surprisingly, it did not take long to adjust to city life.
Having my best friend/boyfriend, Kyle, by my side has definitely made the transition easier. Together we figured out how to ride buses, find our way around campus, find our way around Seattle, & so much more. He also taught me how to do laundry, what a lifesaver. Having such a big piece of home with me all of the time makes it feel as if I never even left 🙂

Although I love Seattle’s gorgeous waterfront, attractions, shopping centers, & skyscrapers I would not want to live here for longer than a few years. At the end of the day, I have always felt more at home away from the hustle & bustle of a big city. I like to be surrounded by trees & a short drive away from the mountains. So, going to college in Seattle will fulfill my taste for the city life & then I will be hopefully be nested in  smaller towns permanently.

The biggest adjustment for me has been not seeing my close group of friends every day. In hindsight, during elementary, junior high, & high school seeing my friends all of the time was so natural that I never thought there would come a day when we would all be living in different places. Being apart from my friends has only made me appreciate them more (plus develop a love for mailing letters!)

The two friends I have who are without a doubt stuck with me for life are NevNev & Mayo. They are technically my enemies now since they attend Washington State University… Yeah right, this husky loves her cougars SO much! ♥

FullSizeRender (42)

My favorite painting, courtesy of the one & only NevNev

Having such a supportive group of close friends, even though I no longer see them on a daily basis, is one of the greatest blessings. True friendship is priceless.

All of the support I receive from my boyfriend, friends, & family motivates me to be successful at the UW. Academics has always been of high priority for me. While I learned a lot about architecture, space, & calculus last quarter, I learned even more about people.

The lessons that resonated with me the most are:

  1. There are many, many different types of “smart”
    You do not have to be a math genius or a scientist to be “smart,” you just have to do what you are passionate in and/or what you are naturally talented in.
  2. Passion is everything.
    Nothing is worth doing without passion.
    I was lucky enough to have professors who were all very enthusiastic about their subjects and their passion made the course more enjoyable & interesting for me.
  3. MAKE MISTAKES
    We learn the most not from the times when we do everything perfectly, but from the times when we slip up. Making mistakes is important because doing so causes us to think back upon what we did wrong and how we can improve in the future. For example, a less-than-perfect test score can be a mistake, but it can also be a moment in which you can let go of perfectionism and refocus yourself on learning the material rather than getting the grade. It is true that if you focus on the learning, the grades will follow naturally.
  4. Let go of negative people
    In life there really is no time worth wasting on people who are temporary, mentally draining, or simply incompatible with you. Give yourself a fresh start by surrounding yourself with positive people. In regards to friends, quality is always greater than quantity.

So far, college has been interesting, that is for sure.

Good luck with the new quarter/ semester!

Love always,

K♥

 

Share your thoughts! :)

